See what our guests are saying about their time aboard LOOPING and for more updated reviews check out our perfect score and wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor.


Reviewed by leahh503

Nov 22, 2018

Best way to experience Fiji

We just returned from a Stay & Sail package with Sailing Fiji / Vacala Bay Resort in September/October, and can honestly say it is the only true way to experience the full range of beauty throughout Fiji. We spent 5 days sailing up to the north of Taveuni, with the last day swimming with manta's and snorkeling Rainbow Reef. Unbelievable. We've also sailed a catamaran in the Caribbean, and the corals in Fiji are simply out of this world. Taking our experience to another level were our hosts, Paul and Helena. Paul’s knowledge of the islands and surrounding waters, and therefore his ability to guide us on any and every adventure, is unmatched. Helena is the perfect compliment, as we have yet to meet, and would bet we won’t ever meet, a soul as kind and hospitable as hers. Nor a chef as miraculous! The food that comes out of her kitchen, either in the resort or on the catamaran, is worth the cost of admission alone. We are already counting down the days until we can come back and relax in Vacala Bay, and explore more of the islands onboard the amazing catamaran! From the luxurious resort and local island excursions, to the beauty underwater in the soft coral capital of the world, capped by a night above deck under more stars than you’ll ever see anywhere else on earth, this is an experience of a lifetime, and one you can only get with Sailing Fiji / Vacala Bay Resort. Thank you Paul and Heli!

Amazing sailing experience and great hosts!!!
Review of Sailing Fiji
Reviewed October 2, 2016
Me and my wife went on our honeymoon to Fiji and decided to escape the touristic areas and explore less known islands. We came across the island of Taveuni, very easily accessible from Nadi or Suva (1hr beautiful flight). There we had this amazing sailing experience during a few days on a spacious and very clean catamaran. The skipper and his wife, Paul and Heli, were extremely kind and shared with us all the local secrets of this magical region. We kite surfed, we visited deserted island, beaches, snorkeled with mantas, visited under water volcano craters, fished tuna, etc. All this while being treated with the best “home made” food cooked. While you share the boat, Paul and Heli both make sure you still have your privacy and space. Fully recommend this experience!!!
— Trip advisor
 

568judyh
2
Reviewed June 14, 2018
Taveuni
Paul is an excellent captain! We enjoyed visiting remote spots that were spectacular! Trip of a lifetime - exceeded our expectations!
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 568judyh


Reviewed by Justin H
Aug 17, 2018
GREAT Sailing Trip with Paul!
When you come to Taveuni, you MUST check out Vacala Bay as it is an incredible spot / resort-home. You must also consider taking a day trip or two with Paul on his catamaran. In addition, Paul plans multi-night sails between islands and combination stay / sail packages with his resort location. You will love Paul and his wife Heli - they are great at guest service, amazing chefs, and Paul has been sailing for many years around the world. He is also a Kite coach and can connect you for diving on the island. Thank you for incredible experience in Taveuni!
 
“A day I will never forget”
5 of 5 starsReviewed September 5, 2014
I have travelled extensively over many years and can say with certainty that my day trip with Sailing Fiji is one of the highlights of all my adventures. Paul and Helena are incredibly gracious and laid back hosts, and will ensure you have a memorable and fantastic experience.

We departed Taveuni early and sailed across the Somosomo Strait to Rabi Island. We dropped anchor here and enjoyed swimming in the crystal blue waters off the coast. There are reefs to snorkel nearby too. The highlight of the day would be our encounter with majestic manta rays. Paul took us out on the zodiac with snorkels to an area where dozens and dozens of mantas feed off the plankton brought in by the current daily. Paul spotted mantas and then dropped us off to swim inches away from these gigantic beautiful creatures. There were moments where I would look around and see nothing but mantas. The mantas are incredibly gentle and graceful and allow you to swim alongside, on top, and underneath them. I have scuba dived around the world and nowhere have I seen as many mantas up close. I do not know how many places in the world allow you such an intimate and breathtaking experience with such a large number of mantas.

The boat itself is also gorgeous, a 42 foot fully equipped catamaran. It sails beautifully and gracefully, and Paul is a wealth of knowledge about the area. The views from our sail were simply spectacular.

The food on the trip was worth the money alone. Somehow in that tiny little kitchen Helena was able to prepare a huge selection of incredible appetizers that would have been a full meal on their own. Pasta salad, potato salad, lentils, roasted eggplant, bruschetta, and more. Then the main course of fish tacos, the fish having been caught fresh days before. While sailing we also caught a rainbow runner, and Paul prepared fresh sashimi from it (I do not think I will ever eat fresher fish).

All in all simply an incredibly awing, relaxing, and amazing experience! I cannot recommend Sailing Fiji highly enough!

Visited September 2014
— Trip Advisor
 
“What a way to start our trip to Fiji!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 5, 2015
A truly amazing start to our trip. We can’t speak highly enough about the experience. LOOPING and snorkeling were absolutely beautiful and the guided trip really pushed the experience over the top. Helena’s galley kitchen creations were some of the best we had in not only in Fiji but in many parts of the world. We also thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Paul and Helena. These are really good people who know how to create a memorable experience. If you have a chance to spend the day on LOOPING, do not hesitate. You won’t be disappointed.

Visited December 2014
— Trip Advisor
 
“A wonderful day in Paradise”
5 of 5 starsReviewed September 6, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed spending the day with Paul and Helena aboard their catamaran. We sailed over to near Rambi (sp?) Island to snorkel with numerous mantas ... It was a delightful experience.

The four of us have been scuba diving all over the world, and have seen mantas many, many times ... But this was truly “up close and personal”. Swimming with mantas is quite special, and Paul really went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed the experience.

Paul and Helena are gracious, generous hosts. Helena is an outstanding cook — I think I’m addicted to her special garlic sauce! We especially enjoyed the fresh walu fish — delicious!! We also enjoyed catching a fresh walu on the sail back to Taveuni.

Thank you, Paul and Helena! We enjoyed spending the day with you ... And send you very best wishes on all your adventures!!

Visited September 2014
— Trip Advisor
 
“Total private pradadise !!!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 11, 2014
The most awesome 4days we’ve ever had :) !!! Looping is a great cat and Paul with Helenka the best hosts :) !!! We got to see amazing spots - tiny islands, private beaches, the warmest water and don’t get me started on the underwater life - totally breath-taking !!!
I’d definitely recommend Looping to all my friends (and I have) ;)
Once isn’t enough - I’ll be back !!! Soon :)
Thanks once again for this awesome experience :)

Visited September 2013
— Trip Advisor